Leading Manufacturers through Product Compliance - Our Slogan

RoHS Directive now fully implemented

The Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS) Directive (2011/65/EU) is a CE Marking Directive which focusses on managing the health and environmental impact of hazardous substances by Manufacturers within the EU.

The Directive, commonly known as ‘RoHS II’ is an extension of the original RoHS Directive 2002/95/EC and added five additional categories of equipment phased in from July 2014. The final category; Category 11 ‘All other EEE’ became applicable on 21st July 2019 meaning that all EEE unless excluded now falls under the scope of RoHS. Exclusions from RoHS include:

  • Equipment for military use or other essentials interests of the member state
  • Equipment designed to be sent into space
  • Equipment intended to be installed into other equipment which is itself excluded
  • Large scale stationary tools
  • Large scale fixed installations
  • Means of transport for persons or goods
  • Non-road mobile machinery
  • Active implantable medical devices
  • Photovoltaic panels
  • Equipment design solely for purposes of research and development

Simplified list, see the Directive for the definitive list

An amendment to the RoHS Directive (often misquoted as RoHS III) has been published which adds four more materials to the restricted list. The CE Marking Association has published an article about this here, however Manufacturers should be aware that this is not a new Directive and that Declarations of Conformity should still refer to 2011/65/EU

If you need any help and support with CE Marking under the RoHS Directive, then please call us on 01564 792349

Comments are closed.